, , ,

Recognizing the outstanding commitment made daily by the dedicated educators, staff and volunteers in support of students in Santa Cruz City Schools

Awards Presentation
Wednesday, May 15 6:30 pm
Kuumbwa Jazz Center, 320 Cedar Street, Santa Cruz
Reserve your seat today. All seats, $20. Payable at the door

The Eddy Awards.web

Please join us on May 15 as we honor the inspiring recipients of the 2013 Eddy Awards. Kim Luke, voice of the Derby Girls and Santa Cruz Warriors, will be our host and a performance by students from the El Sistema Santa Cruz (a program of the Santa Cruz Education Foundation) will open the evening.

Outstanding Teachers
Teachers who inspire, challenge and support students
Four awards for K-3, 4-5, 6-8 and 9-12 teachers

  • Kindergarten through 3rd grade: Carol Hanna, Bay View 
  • 4th & 5th grade: Amariah Hernandez, Gault 
  • 6th through 8th grade: Jeff Osborne, Mission Hill
  • 9th through 12th grade: Yolie Diego, Spanish teacher, Santa Cruz High 

Roseann Coonerty Layne Inspiring Teaching Award
Teacher who ignites a passion for learning in 7-12 grade English, History, Social Studies or Civics/Government

  • Robyn Miranda, English teacher, Soquel High

Unsung Hero
Hardworking staff and parents who make a difference every day

  • Suzanne Williams, Soquel High Counseling Secretary
  • Jeanie Darling, Parent, Westlake Elementary

Green Award
Person, group or program that educates about and emulates the District’s Green policies

  • Bay View Elementary School, with special recognition of contributions made by Bill Philipps, Custodian and Stu Branoff, 5th grade teacher

Wellness Award
Person, group or program that promotes wellness 

  • Elementary School Counseling Program  
    • Dawn Baxter, Bay View
    • Janinee Ramirez, Gault 
    • Jolene Dugan, DeLaveaga & Westlake

Innovation Award
Recognizes innovation in the service of students

  • Kathleen Crocetti, Art Teacher, Mission Hill Middle School

Community Supporters of the Year 
Acknowledges the tremendous gift of community support for our schools

  • Organization: Casey Coonerty Protti & Bookshop Santa Cruz
  • Individual: Kathleen Ferraro, Branciforte Middle School and DeLaveaga Elementary

School of the Year
Recognizes the outstanding results of a collaborative community in service of students

  • Harbor High School